Maunakea Spectroscopic Explorer

        The Maunakea Spectroscopic Explorer is an exciting new project that has been proposed to reinvigorate the Canada France Hawaii Telescope. For more information on the Maunakea Spectroscopic Explorer, please visit

Contact Us

You can contact ACURA at: Don Brooks Executive Director, ACURA Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Faculty of Medicine University of British Columbia 2211 Westbrook Mall Vancouver, BC, Canada, V6T 2B5 Pierre Bastien Secretary-Treasurer, ACURA Danica Kell Secretary, ACURA


The Association is involved in various activities to foster and promote astronomical research in Canada. The Executive Director, the Chair of the Board and the Chair of the Institutional Council work together to ensure that the interests of the association are being represented. ACURA is involved in the Coalition for Canadian Astronomy, a partnership consisting


Square Kilometer ArrayThe SKA will be an interferometric array of individual radio antennas, synthesizing an aperture with diameter of several 1000 kilometers, with one square kilometre of collecting area. Thirty-Meter TelescopeCanada has a 15% share in the TMT, an extremely large telescope to be built on Mauna Kea, Hawai’i. The Association of Canadian Universities for

Executive Director

The Association’s Executive Director is the chief executive officer. The Executive Director shall have overall management responsibility and shall act in accordance with the policies and directions established by the Association.

Board of Management

The Association’s general affairs are managed by a Board that shall determine and act on all matters of policy. The Board meets at least twice annually. It consists of eight members of the ACURA Institutional Council elected by Council members for 3-year renewable terms. The Executive Director of ACURA, the Chair of the Institutional Council,

Corporate Structure

The ACURA By-Laws provide as follows: Membership in the Corporation shall be open and limited to Canadian universities which are degree-granting members of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada having a commitment to astronomical research and interested in furthering and assisting in the achievements of the objects of the Corporation. There shall be