The ACURA By-Laws provide as follows:

Membership in the Corporation shall be open and limited to Canadian universities which are degree-granting members of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada having a commitment to astronomical research and interested in furthering and assisting in the achievements of the objects of the Corporation.

There shall be a body of Member Representatives, to be known as the “Institutional Council”, which shall constitute a forum for the annual review of the activities of the Corporation, for policy direction, for policy approval and for other issues that the Member Representatives consider worthy of consideration.

Each Member Institution shall designate its Member Representative from among its senior administrative officers or its astronomical staff. Each Member Representative so appointed shall serve for a term of three (3) years. There is no limitation on the number of consecutive terms that a Member Representative may serve on the Institutional Council.

Member Representatives on the ACURA Institutional Council

[table ai=”1″ colwidth=”37%|43%|20%” colalign=”left|left|center” ]
Institutions\Representatives\End of term
University of Alberta\Gregory R. Sivakoff†, Professor\2022
Athabasca University\Martin Connors, Professor\2019
Bishop’s University\Lorne Nelson†, Chair, Physics\2020
Brandon University\Tyler Foster, Professor\2022
University of British Columbia\Aaron Boley\2022
University of Calgary\Robert Thompson*, Head, Physics & Astronomy\2022
Université Laval\Gilles Joncas**, Professor\2022
University of Lethbridge\Erasmus Okine*, VP Research\2022
University of Manitoba\Stefi Baum, Dean, Faculty of Science\2022
McGill University\Nick Cowan*, Associate Professor\2022
McMaster University\Christine Wilson, Professor\2022
Université de Montréal\René Doyon, Professor\2022
Queen’s University\Stephane Courteau\2022
Saint Mary’s University\Robert Thacker††, CRC\2022
Trent University\David Patton, Professor\2022
University of Toronto\Vivek Goel*, VP Research\2021
University of Victoria\Kim Venn*, CRC \2020
University of Waterloo\Charmaine Dean, VP Research\2020
University of Western Ontario\Stanimir Metchev, Professor\2022
York University\Patrick Hall, Professor\2019

Ex-officio, non-voting:

[table th=”0″ colwidth=”41%|40%|19%” colalign=”left|left|center” ]
Executive Director\Don Brooks\2020
Chair, Institutional Council\Gilles Joncas\2020
Representative, Western U\Stanimir Metchev\2020
Secretary\Danica Kell\2020
Treasurer\Pierre Bastien\2020
NRC NSI General Manager\Luc Simard\2020
CASCA President\Robert Thacker\2020
AACS Chair\–\–
LRPIC\John Hutchings\2020
CATAC Chair\Michael L. Balogh\2020

September, 2019

(*) Board of Management Member
(**) Institutional Council Chair
(‡) Board Chair
(+) Board Vice-Chair
(†) Nominating Committee member
(††) Nominating Committee Chair